Hello, dear friends. Welcome to my journey to the Island of My Dreams!

Enjoy the beauty of Bali through my eyes

Greetings! Today is May 14, 2011 and I am preparing for my three-month holiday in Bali, starting June 1st and returning to Oakland on August 30th. To say I am excited would be the understatement of the world! I love Bali so much and I am taking this trip in anticipation of moving there on a more permanent basis. I have sooo much to do for this trip. Setting up this blog thing with my beloved Teresa is the first step on my Bali To Do List. I could not have done it without her wisdom and love.

This photo was taken in Tirtaganga, the palace of sacred waters in Bali

Tags: , ,

35 Responses to “Hello, dear friends. Welcome to my journey to the Island of My Dreams!”

  1. Teresa LeYung-Ryan Says:

    Dear LakshmiLove,
    May Bali shine on you the way your love shines on all of us.
    Hugs & kisses & love,
    Writing Career Coach Teresa

  2. Neomi Wesley Says:

    I am so very happy for you. Your grace, wonderful spirit and love is already welcomed there. Soak it in! The winds of Bali are calling you back! Enjoy the journey and Thank you for sharing your travels. I feel honored and blessed to be a part of your life and love of Bali!!!!! Neomi

  3. Paul Says:

    Hi Lakshmi,

    I think this is a great idea. I’ve been wanting to go to Ubud too. But now I can live vicariously through you and your blog. Good luck on the travels. I can’t wait to see the adventures you get yourself into.

    -Paul

  4. Jen Spool Says:

    I’m so excited for you dear one! Looking fwd to reding all about your adventures! Love you! ~Jen

  5. Pamela Pollock Says:

    dearest laskshmi! thank you for including me in your list of special people that get to revel in your adventure! i trust you will enjoy ultimate pleasure, divine comedy and blissful peace on your travels and journey to Bali. May you find pleasant accommodations and wonderful nourishing food. Soak in the spirit that is present everywhere and always. Much love for you, Pamela

  6. Shera Says:

    Love the blog you set up!!!!

  7. Judy St. John Says:

    Bon voyage dear Lakshmi you lucky devil.
    love Judy

  8. Lynette Lynch Says:

    Oh goodie — I’m on board to ride the roller coaster with you … blogwise. I’m very excited for you. From one island gal to another — ENJOY your adventures! As we say here, Walk Good.

  9. David Alexander Says:

    How come you big kid get EVERYTHING! Nice to see you today. Keep us posted.

  10. Diana Davis-lopez Says:

    Dear Goddess of my understanding. I am so excited for you and know this will be a life changing adventure and I am all for adventures. I will share your trip via your blog. What a great ideal. Have the best time possible. Hugs and Kisses, Diana

  11. Marie Says:

    How exciting for you to take this big step, and share it with me. I will look forward to reading of your travels. I will be in Nicaragua June 28- Aug 9. Let’s share stories when we return. Blessings to you!
    love, marie

  12. Jerry Shepard Says:

    Lakshmi: wonderful seeing you today and the excitement you exhibit around your upcoming 3 month stay in Bali. What a great gift yours will be in sharing your vagabonding experience. Anxiously awaiting your reports from paradise! Jerry

  13. Ruth Perelstein Says:

    Sounds beautiful. Have a wonderful time as I know you will.

  14. Jim K Says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the energy drop after too much racing around experiencing all the beauty you love. Part of me is eager to see you when you return to hear all about your stay. Another part is captivated by your enthusiasm, and is getting ready to accept that you have found your Shangri-La, and our future connecting will be by email. Keep loving it. — Jim L (of Renee)

    • lakshmilove Says:

      Hi Jim,

      Thank you for your sweet message. I’ve been to the doctor and am now relaxing on my daybed on the porch, surrounded by Oka’s beautiful garden and specifically the area near my room which she has named “Lakshmi’s Garden” and brought in beautiful orchids and gardenia plants. I love being here and just relaxing … but also doing a bit on my computer. I hope all is well with you, sweet man, and that you and your ladies are all well and happy. Please pass my love on!

  15. Karen Lewis Says:

    Hi my friend good to see your enjoying yourself!! thanks for keeping us here at home in the know!! Bali looks like paradise it’s totally beautiful, clean and clear waters. Fresh air nice friendly people sound like to perfect place to retire. I will be looking out for all your photos and stories. Have a fabulous trip!! Miss you here in Cali.

    Much Love
    Karen Lewis

    • lakshmilove Says:

      Hi Karen,

      Thanks for your sweet note. I am resting and recuperating from a bronchial infection that put me in the bed for a couple of days. Right now I am on my porch, laying on a daybed, enjoying the beauty of Oka’s gardens and specifically the area near my porch that she has named “Lakshmi’s Garden”. She put in orchids for me, and gardenias, it is very beautiful. I will put up a photo on my blog when I’m feeling better. Love to you. Lakshmi

  16. Laura Says:

    You look fabluous! and I can’t wait to read/see more about your adventures! XOXOX, Laura

    • lakshmilove Says:

      Thanks, Laura sweetheart. I’ve been sick for the past few days, down with a bronchial something or other. But as I recuperate I am lying on the daybed on my porch and loving being in the middle of Oka’s gardens. Especially the garden near my porch that she has named “Lakshmi’s Garden” and put in orchids and gardenias. It is so beautiful! I will post a photo when I’m feeling better. Love to all at the Y. Lakshmi

  17. Magdalena Babuljak Says:

    I saved your photograph with the flower as my new background for my computer. You are so beautiful in this photo – a true Bali goddess! Now I can see this every day. Love you lots….

    • lakshmilove Says:

      Oh, Magdalena, how sweet of you. It makes me so happy to know that the photo is bringing you joy. I’ve been sick the past few days with a bronchial whatever and while recuperating, I’m lying on a daybed on the porch, surrounded by Oka’s beautiful gardens. Especially the garden around my porch which Oka has named “Lakshmi’s Garden.” She added some beautiful orchids and gardenia plants. It is so lovely! I will put up a photo when I’m feeling better. Love you also, sweetheart. Lakshmi

  18. steve bodansky Says:

    it’s like a hex/ bless. go down first and then you travel even further.on the way up. enjoy the ride. xoxo vera and steve

    • lakshmilove Says:

      How true! Bali is the most beautiful place one could imagine. And the ride has been intense. I am now feeling better than I was feeling before I got sick. It’s wonderful to hear from you, Vera and Steve. I hope all is well with you. Continuing on my road to even deeper personal discovery … Big love to you both, Lakshmi

  19. Nancy Townsend Says:

    Lakshmi, thanks for your posts! I’m glad you are feeling better now.
    I think of you whenever I use the beautiful bowl I got at your garage sale, which is almost every day!

    Thinking of you and send much love,
    Nancy

    • lakshmilove Says:

      Nancy, I am so happy you are enjoying my posts. You can imagine how crazy I went for four weeks with no computer, wanting to share my experiences and my Bali. I’m so happy you like the bowl, now I can feel your love all the time. Sending Bali love and magic to you and Peter. Lakshmi

  20. Linda Handy Says:

    Lakshmi, Thank you so much for allowing me to experience this with you. I want to be like you when I grow up and be retired so i can really begin my life’s work. Remember when you said “it’s like everyday is Saturday.”
    Love you girl!

    • lakshmilove Says:

      Oh, Linda, you are such a sweetheart. Let me tell you, having this much freedom is almost as challenging for me as working full time. Isn’t it weird? I really have to be responsible for what I am creating in my life, at a much deeper level than ever before. It truly is possible for our dreams to come true, if we are willing to take the good and the bad of it, the easy and the challenging. I’m so happy you are in my life, sweetheart. Sending Bali love and magic to you and your beloveds. Lakshmi

  21. Diana Davis-Lopez Says:

    The eternal pull between good and evil, dark and light we all live it each day whether we know it or not. It’s a joy to experience this trip with you. Enjoy and the best in making your decision to move to Bali. I am also experincing a tropical bliss in Hawaii. But unlike you I am working. I have yet to see the beach I am so busy. I worked Saturday at a YMCA camp out for the spouse and children of fallen hero’s. I was very emtional and rewarding, lots of tears, hugs and men and women I will be working with personally while am here. Love to you, and learn all that you can. Diana

  22. lakshmilove Says:

    It sounds like you are on a great journey also, Diana. I am like a sponge, soaking it all up, contemplating, meditating. Life is very lazy now in my recuperation stage. I sit at my “desk” on my porch, looking out over the beautiful gardens here, the orchids, the old and exquisite statues of Bali … I feel very, very blessed. Much love to you! Lakshmi

  23. Robert Wunce Says:

    Greetings Lakshmi…….this is Robert Wunce contacting you from Santa Cruz, CA……..we met at a street fair in Montclair a couple of years ago and I mentioned how magical Bali is/was…….I think I may have been part of the inspiration to travel and have an adventure in Bali!! My lovely wife Leigh and I explored Bali about 10 years ago now……..2 weeks after the horrible Kuta bombing where so many folks died. We have never been somewhere for a month and I was sort of concerned being on the road for that long……little did I know that it would not be near enough time to to even touch the surface of Bali!! We loved being there………the folks are the most gentle and loving folks we’d ever met……..I could take hours here to chat about around adventure in Paradise………but I really wanted to just say hello and hope you are living your Bali dream…..seems that you are!! I also wanted to let you know that some friends of mine are also building a home in Ubud………their names are Martha and Clay Wiseman………they are from Santa Cruz………he is somewhat of a famous diver and publishes books and articles about diving……..really nice folks and hope you’ve bumped into them. Martha has a Facebook page……..am headed there this morning to say hello to her also!! So happy for you……..peace be with you and enjoy the moment……..it’s all we really ever have…….namaste………Robert Wunce/Silversmith

  24. Robert Wunce Says:

    Sorry…..messed up my email address……..hope to hear back from you soon………tell me a good story!!

    Blessings……….Robert Wunce

  25. Robert Wunce Says:

    I so hope you received my other email a few seconds ago………I do not see it in your comment section……….it was long and way past due……….please let me know Lakshmi if you received it……….just a few words to say hello and so happy for you! This is Robert Wunce again……….think I’ll write another one here in case my other email was lost in space! We met at a street fair in Montclair a couple of years ago………and told you about Bali………and here you are living your dream of living there! My lovely wife and I were there some 10 years ago and really fell in love with it’s gentle people……..the most oveing folks we’d ever been privileged to meet…..at first I was wondering what we would do for a whole month…….it was not near enough time to scrap the surface. I could go on and on about our adventure there……..magical visits deep in the jungle to amazing hot springs……the Blanco Museum………snorkeling off the east coast……..the market place was truly way to much fun in Ubud……a 40 kilometer vback roads mountain bike tour……..the night time Balinese dancers……..and the temples and the history of Bali…………truly the most magical country we’ve visited. I also wanted to let you know that their some friends of mine who are also building a home in Bail………they are from Santa Cruz……..Clay and Martha Wiseman……he is a famous diver and publishes books and articles about diving from all over this amazing planet…….hope you know of them or can inquire through the grapevine to meet them! So happy for you……….living your fantasy where as so many folks just dream their whole lives and that’s as far as they get……….hope you are well and safe……..and remember enjoy the moment…….it’s truly all we have……..namaste Lakshmi……..Robert Wunce PS I so hope to hear from you with a fun story………we all love travel stories…….especially from Bali………HUGS!!

    • lakshmilove Says:

      Hi Robert,
      Of course I remember you and our conversation about Bali. I am back home in Oakland now, ran into a situation which required me to come home. I was in Bali for 3-1/2 months. I posted the most exciting experiences here on my blog site. This was my fourth journey to Bali and by far the most life-changing. I actually will make one or two more blogs about Bali even though I’m in Oakland. I want to talk about the beautiful place I stayed and the even more beautiful woman who owns it. She and I are now sisters and best friends. I really miss Bali, Robert, and will go back in 2012 for 6 or 8 months. Bali totally owns my heart. But for now I am very involved in Occupy Oakland and putting my energy into doing whatever I can do to force the 1% to pay their fair share and restore some sense of democracy in our country. I know this is not what you wanted to hear from me but it is what I am doing with this moment in time that I have. Thank you so much for being in touch with me. We are connected and you will hear more about Bali from me. I hope all is well in your life and that you and your wife are planning a trip to Bali! Big hug to you. Lakshmi

      • Robert Wunce Says:

        So nice to hear from you……….and all the work you’re doing with Occupy…….reminds me of the movement for the end of the Vietnam war……….marched down Telegraph Ave twice to help……..this is just the beginning of the movement……..little do the 1% know…….they will be apprised of this movement soon…….blessings to you and yours over this holiday season……..this country is in such huge trouble………not sure where it will go but there has to be a beginning……….THIS IS THE BEGINNING!!!
        Blessings……….Robert

  26. lakshmilove Says:

    Robert, I remember marching behind Jane Fonda in early 1969 in San Francisco, the very beginning of the anti-Vietnam war movement. That same activist energy courses through my veins now. I will continue to do whatever I can to make my voice heard. Of course, I don’t have the same energy at my young age of 73 as I did back in 1969, but I’m still having fun. Friday night I went to see HAIR in San Francisco … what a walk back in time. I loved it so much! The audience had an opportunity to get up on stage and dance with the cast at the end of the play. I literally ran out of my seat to get on the stage. It was fabulous! (let me know if you want me to send you the link to a video of the audience dancing with the cast and I’ll send it to you.)

    I wish you all the blessings for a successful holiday sales season. I am not going to be able to buy gifts for folks, I am so financially challenged. But please let me know when you are going to be selling in Montclair or elsewhere nearby and, even if I can’t shop I’d love to stop by for a visit.

    Om swasti astu!
    Lakshmi

Leave a Reply

